... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Hinksey Park: Leucistic Egyptian Goose!

Lower wing loading in large?
My, what large [wings he has].

I've been looking for this goose for more than half a decade... When I resumed my studies and was getting Goosle-withdrawal symptoms, I searched "Egyptian geese Oxford", and the only hint of them was a number of mentions of a leucistic individual who popped up from time to time on various birding websites. I'd seen pictures (e.g.), but it seemed that I wouldn't be seeing many Egyptian geese in Oxford, and I'd failed even to find the leucistic one.

THEN, Arachne posted this ghostly shot on Monday; I wasn't sure whether the goose was pale due to the mist (i.e. another Egyptian goose), or if this was indeed the fabled leucistic individual. 

So, today I made my pilgrimage... I'd not been to Hinksey Park before, but I saw him as soon as I arrived by the pond; I know he's male, because he chunters like Mr. rather than trumpeting / honking like Mrs. He's charming, even if his strange pigmentation gives him rather intense acid green/yellow eyes (rather than amber like the Goosles).

I've uploaded an album to Flickr: Oxford Egyptian Goose (or right from here).
Favourites:
"... and so we finally meet"
Curious
Flapping (next shot from blip...)
Drinking / reflecting
Keeping an eye on me
Watching the washing mallard
Quick preen (up close)
Posing by the pond

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.