Bridge from the Falls

I took this as I stood at the edge of Whatcom Falls looking over towards the bridge that was build by the Works Progress Administration in 1939-40. It is a wonderful bridge and I love the view from the falls. I took a walk around 11 today while it was still bearable. I did my usual loop, along Scudder Pond, down into the park, across the bridge and up the other side of Whatcom Creek. I stopped at Whatcom Falls and then headed on up the creek and back by the pond and home. It's about three miles. It's a walk I love to take as the park is so beautiful. By the time I got home the heat was rising. Here is the large version of the photograph.

Arv and I both had medical appointments today before and after my walk. Routine stuff. We are both fine. We are spending a quiet evening at home tonight.

The heat is making it a bit hard to sleep. Last night I was awake long enough to hear the neighbors' poodles bark for about an hour between twelve and one until the neighbors came home. Then finally I fell asleep. Tonight will not be any cooler I fear. Tomorrow is a day of plein air painting. That will be fun. Luckily the place we are going has lots of shady spots. It's along the far end of Whatcom Creek where it heads down toward the Bay.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.