Red-tail Hawk

I'm keeping my eyes skyward these days. Another way of saying I'm trying to stay above the fray until I get my head around our current situation...if I ever do. I saw this hawk sitting on the wires as Ozzie and I drove home from Spring Lake this morning. He is a pale morph red-tail hawk. If you would like a further explanation of the name of this bird, and could use some distraction, I highly recommend  Red Tails in Love by Marie Winn. It is a delightful book about bird watchers in Central Park and the birds they watch.

Judging by the thickness of the wires he is sitting on, I would say this hawk is probably sitting on the television cables carrying all the useless speculation coming at us 24/7. It's as good a use for them as anything....I'm sticking with classical music for now..

Keeping my eyes skyward has also yielded a beautiful pink and red sunset, and a shot of the 'supermoon' (extra) as it emerged from the trees on the hills across the road. Thoughts of the same moon shining on everyone on the planet were comforting, though I must be careful not to trip over anything whilst my eyes are on the heavens....

I was in the local shopping center looking for a birthday present for my grandson...the one whose birthday was in September, and some things for Thanksgiving which is next week, and was dismayed to see the Christmas decorations going up. For once, it may prove to be another useful distraction, although it would be nice to get through Thanksgiving first....

My thoughts are with the people of New Zealand who are affected by the earthquake there. I remember after the Loma Prieta earthquake I was freaked out every time a truck rumbled by for months.  Please stay safe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.