Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Dragon dew

Great response to yesterday's ant blip, thankyou for that. I really felt pressure from putting myself out there like that and was not convinced that it was a good idea.

Today's plan was to safari with the rising sun and try for a damsel dew shot. But, for some reason there were very few damsels on display. I find photographing these tiny inch long damsels extremely testing and with the poor light forcing flash, the slow 1/60th sec shutter speed was just beyond my technique with this lens. Despite taking a large number of shots, I was not happy with any of them, so I guess the damsel dew shot will have to wait for another day.

Early on in the session, I accidently touched some dewed grass on my skylight, on the one day that I was not carrying any tissue. This pretty much destroyed all the images taken after that point anyway.

I did however get this shot of a dewed up Sabina dragon early on in the session, that turned out rather well. I like the way the droplets magnify the eye facets, but you will probably have to go in large to appreciate that.

Bandung is at an elevation of just under 2000m, way up amongst the volcanoes. The altitude causes very cool night temperatures and combined with the high humidity, are perfect conditions for heavy dew formation. Once the sun comes over the hill tops, the dew burns away very quickly, so if it is dew shots you want, you had best set the alarm.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.