Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

Beware of Wildebeest - Meru Day One

A late start this morning as we make our way to the Arusha National Park to climb Mount Meru, which is the fifth highest peak in Africa at 4,562 metres / 14,967 ft.

The rest of the team turned up overnight, although they didn’t get much sleep having had to travel via Turkey to get here.

I must admit to feeling very apprehensive at the start of this, and I don’t know whether this has affected my stomach.  I’ll say no more, you can guess the rest.

Just a 4 hour walk today to the Miriakamba Hut, no tents on Meru we’re staying at huts all the way.  As we’re travelling on paths where wildebeest often roam a park ranger has to come with us, with rifle, to ensure we are safe.  Whilst we see plenty of their dung, thankfully we don’t seem them.  But we do see giraffes and monkeys.

Some glorious views today as we made our way up, and when we reached the hut I was feeling really good.  Breathing was still a problem, but my legs were really strong.  Tomorrow we hit altitude!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.