100 years ago

I've had reason to look through old photos lately. As it is a dull and  miserable Sunday AND we have not travelled further than the walls of home, I thought I'd blip this 100 year old photograph.

It is a photograph that was taken in 1916 of my Grandmother(my Dad's Mother on the left)  when she was a mutionette/canary girl during WW1.   A monstrously dangerous job filling shells with explosives.    
I'm afraid to  say that being the clown that she was, she and her pal, Beatrice Root - yes that really was her name( think of the shortened version :-) ) - were eventually dismissed  from the munitions factory for larking around. Not really the done thing in such an explosive workplace :-(


Anyway..... my sister and I adored her and we were extremely fortunate to have her in our lives  as we grew up.  
She was born in 1896 and died in 1992.  A walking, talking history book;
she talked of  Queen Victoria's funeral, her uncles returning from the Boer War, the first motor cars appearing and so on...
She was one of 17 children (I have a picture of a whole crowd of them) She was kind, funny, clever and an enormous influence on my life.
I am very fortunate.
How I would love to be remembered in such a way...... highly unlikely I should think.    
I am a scowler.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.