Rescuing Cressida

Saw last night that the big waves, driven by the strong northerly winds at the tail edge of storm Angus, had swept away Cressida, Portobello's tidal octopus. This morning I was out on a job but on my way back into the flat I thought I 'd take a look to see if there was any sign left. Sure enough the pole at the end of the groyne was missing its usual inhabitant, but I saw a group of people down on the sand. It was the artist, Lauren, and a couple of others trying to see what had happened. They had just found Cressida's tentacles sticking up out of the sand but needed a spade. As we live close by I was able to fetch one from the flat and help them with the excavation. Not the easiest of tasks as she was quite well buried and although the tide was going out every so often a big wave swept back up the beach and re-filled the hole we had dug out! Eventually we managed to clear enough sand to lift her out and then carry her off the beach to a safe resting place where hopefully she will get cleaned up and restored to her rightful place!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.