Blue Hamish

By BlueHamish

Angry man

Or a bit of a joke? I see the latter (ref Sunday's blip).

Currently Reading Bill Bryson's book 'The Road to Little Dribbling' which has some really funny moments simply because he holds a mirror up for us to see how silly we can be at times, both the British as a race and people generally and his rather scathing view of the idiocy of some people matches my own on many occasions. An example relating to a visit to a little local shop on a typical town high street where he has gone to buy a bottle of water:

Bill: 'Has the new Tesco made a difference to trade?'
Shopkeeper: Nodding grimly 'it was already hard, now it's getting bloody impossible. Come back in a few months and I guarantee that a lot of the shops on this street won't be here'
Bill: 'That's sad'
Shopkeeper: 'Bloody tragedy'
Bill: 'But then again, your shop is kind of a dump, you didn't say hello when I came in and you give every appearance of being a miserable old git'
Shopkeeper: 'you're absolutely right. I really should try a lot harder shouldn't I?'
Bill: 'Much harder but sad thing is that you won't. You'll just bitch away as if your failing business is everybody's fault but your own'
Shopkeeper: 'You are so right. Well thank you for helping me to be a better shopkeeper and possibly even a better person. I hope you'll come again'

Of course he didn't have this conversation but it's what went through his head. Nice to know I'm not alone in doing this?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.