I didn't, I couldn't.
He didn't, he couldn't... I suspect. Or didn't really want to.

It was a fairly ordinary and somewhat grey day. Cycle to work; busy at work; cycle to the pool; have a swim; do some shopping; and head home... somewhat knackered.

I'm slogging up the cycle/footpath of the Kessock Bridge, on my bike, with said shopping and swimming stuff. It's all very grey, fairly windy, cool, and those cycle shorts maybe weren't a good choice today. I'm really tired, and have no Blip 'bagged', or any idea of what will make my life sound vaguely interesting. I'll be honest, it mostly just is not so. There's no-one else on the path as I'm approaching the first column. I look up as a lad steps on to the path from the outside of the bridge, about 50 metres away. I'm somewhat surprised. He looks around, sees me approaching, and turns as if about to climb back.

I stop just passed him. He looks a bit sheepish, and I ask, "Are you alright?" No reply. "Do you know, you're not allowed to go over there?" He's a young lad. Maybe around seventeen. Casually dressed, but not scruffy. There is something funny about his hands . They seem strangely loose, and dirty, but his clothing, and the rest of him look very clean. He looks at me, and obviously isn't going to reply. I continue, "there are cameras on the bridge. The Police will be able to see what you're doing." Blank look. Pause. I head off slowly, glancing back a couple of times. He starts climbing over the side again. I think , "Aw shoot*. Can't leave him here like this."

I stop again. I'm now at the middle of the bridge, and do everything in a very slow, relaxed manner. Park the bike against the side of the bridge. Take off my cycle glasses and attach them to the bike... less they blow away. I'm conscious that he's checking my actions, now and again. I walk very slowly back to where he is. He's standing on a thick steel plate near the end of one of the bridge's main cables. And looking down. That wind is quite strong, and it's gusting... from behind us.

I stand nearby, and quiet. He eventually speaks, and asks, "What would happen if someone jumped from here?"
I continue that slow casual approach in my reply, "I don't know. And wouldn't do it myself. The waters really not that deep here. You could well stick in the mud at the bottom." I noted that the tide was going out too, meaning it was becoming shallower. Thought better of mentioning that, and putting any sense of urgency on his actions. "It would depend on how you hit water. Don't think I'll be jumping in after you. I've just swum eighty lengths of the pool, and am in no fit state for a swim in that cold murky stuff down there."

He stretches his arms out to his sides. And stands a smidgen closer to the edge. I see his shoes, the toe of the nearest is just over the edge. They're very new looking, grey, mainly. His trousers and top are grey too. He's almost camouflaged, on this grey bridge, on a grey evening.

I continue to speak to him, trying to persuade him to come back to the path, but it's time to call for assistance. I have a mobile phone, a fossil to some, but very rarely use it. It's for car type emergencies, and I don't normally have it with me, unless in the car. Both were at home.

Stepping back, and to the side, I lean over the barrier to the roadway, and wave to attract the attention of the few drivers that are about. Then giving a gesture to indicate a phone, and point at the lad. The third car stopped, almost screeching, and the passenger rummaged in her bag to grab a phone and make the call.

A Police Officer arrives quite quickly, and I stand a bit further back as he talks to the lad. Eventually he came back on to the bridge. And is gently persuaded to take a seat out of the wind in a second Police car.

They take a surprising amount of personal details about myself. Not just the name and address, that I was expecting to be required. The first Officer said that they had a few calls, and when they did a quick check on the cameras, they thought it was me that was being reported, as they couldn't see the young lad. That cycle-top is of the 'high-vis' variety...

I headed off for home, covered in goosebumps, and shivering from the cold. Spoke to a gentleman that was parked in the first layby after the bridge. He'd phoned the Police too, and was concerned to hear what had happened.

I had two cameras in my backpack. One SLR film type, and one small digital. but there was no point at which any consideration of photographing such a scene could be considered appropriate. Had I been walking about with a camera in hand, obviously taking photographs, that might have been different (though probably not). But introducing one into what was already going on, could have exacerbated the issues. Sometimes you don't have to get the picture...


[* a more polite variation]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.