ash987

By ash987

In for a penny, in for a pound

Old and New 'Cos actually, its a shiny 1967 (i.e. pre-decimal) Half Penny , and a shiny 2006 plastic £5 note. 

More commonly known as the Ha'penny (or even 'a'penny if you're from Yorkshire).

I've now added an extra photo too, which rather marvellously shows off the holographic technology of the new fiver, against the 1967 date of the halfpenny..

I doubt this fiver will be around in 50 years time. And if it is, will it be worth as much as a halfpenny was then?

I used my macro adapters on my zoom lens, using the tripos to hold it still with a cable release to do the business. The focal length is so small, even on a small aperture. I used my iPhone to illuminate the scene, trying all sorts of angles to try get it right.

Fun Fiver Facts: Did you know there are 2,400 half pennies to a £5. Thats a lot of pockets-worth of bronze...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.