My Year in Pictures

By jenny

That sinking feeling

That you get when you start a job at 10am and at 6pm realise it's going to take an awful lot longer than you first imagined!

Our kitchen is probably my least favourite room in our home. None of it is what I'd choose, however when we moved in we called it a 95% room. 95% in that it's not hideous however it would never really be how we'd like it and as everything works you can't quite justify ripping it out and starting again.

So we've painted it, put new blinds and lights in and made it a bit more ours if that makes sense.

However I decided this week that potentially the cheapest and most transformational thing we could do would be to paint all the cupboard doors. All 24 of them (plus 10 drawers).

So I took the first 6 down, sugar soaped them, undercoated one side, waited until it dried, undercoated the other side, waited until it dried, then went to paint the lovely eggshell on them.

And that's when I discovered I'm going to need at least one more probably two more coats if it's to look any good :(

So I reckon it's now about 4 weeks work rather than the 2 I'd originally hoped!

However, other than the fact I've cupboard doors dotted around the house and open cupboards (and will do for the next few weeks) it's going to look ace! Already I can see the room is going to look so much brighter and bigger. Hurrah!!!!!!

Now where's my paintbrush.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.