Caution: Mourning Dove Crossing

Dear Diary,

Yesterday's rain turned into ice and the roads got quite treacherous.  Then, at 4:15pm the power went off.  It was out for 3 hours but thankfully I have an automated generator that came one and gave me heat and lights.  I can't imagine living here without some backup power supply.

Mr. and Mrs. Mourning Dove come each morning.  Being ground feeders, I need to scatter seeds for them.  I love the soft brown color and spots on their feathers, their white bellies and pink feet.  I especially like their mournful sound.  They are very, very timid too.  They are the old souls of the bird community, a real contrast to the raucous jays and hyper chickadees.


Each little neighbor that comes to call brings something special and unique.  They are all different but all wonderful in their own way.  People are like that too I find.  Although we tend to hang out with our own kind, “birds of a feather stick together”, we are often best served by embracing those who are different from us.  That is the real value of travel to other countries.  It opens our minds and our hearts to those who view the world differently from ourselves and that is always a good thing.


“Travel makes one modest. You see what a tiny place you occupy in the world.”  – Gustave Flaubert


I am nearly finished setting up my New England winter village.  It is a long process!  I hope to have a photograph of it to show you all on Friday! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.