Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Serpent

Archive Blip: 01/04/2010

Around six months before this journal launched I enjoyed a good April Fool's Day walk from Burley in Wharfedale along the edge of moor to Ilkley.

This will have been my first exploration of this bit of the moor; I'd loosely set myself the challenge of walking various transects across Rombalds Moor to get to know it better.  It was fine and sunny for most of the day, a fierce snow squall set in as I was getting closer to Ilkley, so I took shelter in some rocks, possibly in Rocky Valley. That's where I came across this modern petroglyph - a serpent maze.  I've not stumbled across it since, although I've rarely been back along that route. 

Further images from the day, including more ancient rock art, are collated here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.