Saltaire

Although I've lived and walked in my home patch for some 50 odd years, there are still bits of it yet unexplored and today Tony and I walked through familiar country but on unfamiliar tracks. He had to do some checking for a Long-O event coming up in September and I opted to go with him as the gloomy, mizzly morning was fast turning into a glorious afternoon.

We parked the car in the very posh estate of Tong Park and took to footpaths which skirted the golf course at Hollins Hall, past a pretty pond with lots of dragonflies, too fast for me to blip sadly. We then crossed the busy main road and descended to Esholt via yet another different footpath. We bought ice creams at the village Post Office and I blipped Tony eating his outside the famous Woolpack Inn (got the fridge magnet and postcards too - wonder if itchy thumbs in Texas will appreciate the Emmerdale link?!) From there we did a circuit back to the main road and over fields and hill to regain the car.

Tony then remembered that he had spotted a good vantage point to blip Salt's Mill whilst out on his checking before and we drove to the top of Baildon Bank. Sadly a grey cloud had descended on the valley by the time we got there so this isn't quite the glorious blip I had hoped for. I think I might have to persuade some local blippers to meet me up there early morning to make the best of it. At least you can see Titus's terraced village behind his mill in contrast to the 40s/50s housing in the foreground.

Probably best explored in Large. A question about location - on a blip like this, do you site it on the map where you took it from, or what you can see?? Here is the mill taken from the canal which runs between the two buildings.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.