JVM my life

By JulieVMac

Nikki de St Phalle on Park Avenue, New York City

Nikki de St Phalle is one of my favourite artists and on Park Avenue they are having a exhibition of her work - the famous sculptures line the central avenue - however they seemed out of place amongst the hubbub of the financial district, hardly anyone was stopping to look. To me they had always seen immense sculptures but today the tall buildings surrounding them dwarfed them - one of my favourite places in the World is the Nikki de St Phalle Tarot Garden in Southern Tuscany - if anyone gets the chance go - it simply takes your breathe away, a real visual stimulation.

I walked my feet off this morning on 5th Avenue, and the surrounding neighbourhoods - 5th avenue is famous for being one of the most expensive shopping districts in the world, and this was most certainly true, near the end of the trip I went into A and F, this place was unbelievable. There were semi-naked men at the entrance to greet you, once inside the lights had been dulled so it was almost impossible to see where you were going, only the clothes were lit, the music was blaring and the air was filled with a heavy scent of perfume. It almost had a air of Roman decadence about it, after 5 mins I could take no more, but trying to find your way out was horrific. I sought solace in the beautiful St. Patricks Cathedral, nestled queitly in amongst the tall building, it seems most people these days worship the god of consumerism, or at least it seemed that way in 5th Avenue!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.