Was It Really So Long Ago

By LincolnGreen

New Street, Chelmsford

Back in 1989, I interviewed for a job in this very building, but decided to decline the offer of employment and went off and do a couple of other things. At the time, the name of the company was the world renowned Marconi Communications, but by the time I reappeared for a very different job interview in 2005, much water had passed under the bridge. Gladly scope and terms of this job offer were mutually agreed and only a few years later, plans to sell the site and relocate to Basildon were implemented, which is where I am based now.

I have to say, the sight of these early twentieth century buildings looking in such good order was a welcome one early this morning. I believe they are now the headquarters of a property developer. Much of the rest of the site was flattened to make way for new apartments and commercial outlets, with only the water tower remaining.

Needing to have the car at home, so that I can attend an event later in the week, I caught the train to Chelmsford and joined a colleague in his car for the remainder of the journey southwards.

It was a frosty and chilly start to the week, have a good one all!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.