Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Crazed Carp

My computers are still down. It's not been a day when I can sit down to try and sort it. Yes, Mac's are more stable and maybe I ought to go back to them once these die. Hopefully that won't be for a while!

Lady D is doing a short film/animation project for Uni. To do a jungle scene we headed up to Wisley this afternoon where I photographed her emerging from thick vegetation, battling her way through bromides and scrutinising plant leaves with lenses and cameras. All good fun and her ideas, from plans on paper, are slowly becoming an intriguing little film.

Out of the hot house, we wandered around the gardens for a while. There was quite a commotion around a large pond. A group of children were throwing bread into the water. The duck, despite their best efforts, were hardly going to get a crumb. The gigantic carp that live in the water were ravenous, launching themselves to clear up every last morsel, almost completely out of the water, with their enormous mouths sucking the bread up from dry land.

Fascinating to watch and a challenge to photograph without the splashes from their large tails drowning the cameras. When the children left, the frenzy subsided and most of the carp went too! I think we might have to go back one day with some fish food.

We decided that this was one of the best images and I've decided to load it without looking to closely at the rest.

I am so sorry for not commenting much at the moment. I really appreciate all your comments, hearts and stars and am feeling terribly guilty about not being able to repay all of your compliments. I find the notepad really hard work! I do see many of your lovely images when W. retires at night, but the connection is a nightmare and I find it impossible to write anything without being disconnected and frustratingly have to start from scratch each time. Now it's worse at home ... I can't win!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.