A sunny interlude

A dull morning here, but it brightened up later and as I walked down to the town the sun popped out from under the clouds and lit up the hills of Kerrera and Mull. A small ship was leaving Oban to turn SW along the Sound of Kerrera, so I photographed it as well as a few other things.

When I later returned home I found that I couldn't read the name on the boat's stern and when I magnified it it became blurred. So I turned to my faithful VesselFinder.com and learnt that it was a freighter, Inter Caledonia, sailing under the Norwegian flag. The tracking mode allows you to follow it, so after lunch I looked again and saw her heading southwards down the  west side of Seil and Luing and turning east around the bottom end of Luing and then northwards towards Scarba. She's now turned around, so I have no idea what she's up to and must go and get on with some work up in the loft! There's a live fish carrier, Ronje Skye, tied up at the North Pier - I've seen her in the past filling her tanks with live fish delivered to the pier by fish tanker lorries! They're both Norwegian - maybe they have some connection.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.