wait just one more shot

By Susanbmathew

All is calm all is bright

Town landing market on the Foreside is a Falmouth institution. From the Coca-Cola circles to the sign advertising "native ice cubes" , its presence is part of my past.
It is a touchstone of sorts. Regardless of what seems to happen in life.....the market looks the same.
I find myself searching for things that haven't changed. Life seems to happen at the speed of sound lately. Work comes early and night time comes at 4pm! So not only are the days short.......they pass so quickly.
The weather was oh so cold this morning. It was -2 F or -18 for the Celsius crowd. Ok so no big deal right? Yeah with the windchill it was -21 (-29.4)! I sent an quick email to a friend Downunder and he asked how we cope.
That question caught me for a minute.
I guess we get used to the sting on the cheeks of the cold air and the fact that we cover every inch of us. Layers help. One must wear a hat and mittens. Down helps as do layers of fleece. The best? Fur. Sorry people, mink works.
I once felt bad about wearing mink until Fluffikens posted her birds killed by them. Not feeling bad now
I made an executive decision, I am not getting a Christmas tree this year. Last weekend I was sick. This week Donal has been down with the flu. I had to get an order of cards and framed prints ready for a client and my calendars were finished and ordered.
I started to rearrange my afternoon, planning it down to the minute involving, buying a tree, bringing the ornaments upstairs and decorating the tree. This afternoon it hit me. What on earth was I doing all this for this year?
So this year it changes. No tree. No vacuuming of needles, no chasing the cats with ornaments in their mouths........no shiny lights.
I may get a real wreath or a chunk of roping to hang ceiling to floor. But this year, I am taking a year off. Tonight I took this picture. I felt the need for a touchstone.
Something's change, yet others.....stay the same.
G'day downunder and goodnight to the north.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.