Happy Endings

Christmas is celebrated today in this part of the world, as it is in many others.

It follows a rigid agenda in this house (well, it's Bavaria).

First, a huge brunch.

Then I get a hard time about not going to the afternoon church service with The Women. Not being a Christian, never mind a churchgoer, seems to count for nothing.

Oddly enough, I'm quite relaxed about them doing whatever they want, and don't put them under pressure to skip church just because I don't want to go.  

So they all disappear about 3pm.

Cocktails when they get back about 5.30pm. I'm in charge of those. This seems to be acceptable behaviour on my part. A bit like bringing in more wood and/or putting out rubbish when it's cold/wet and dark. Bellinis this year. 90% peach juice for the Teens. 90% prosecco for mine. Dr D's depends on my mood.

Then dinner. Soup, pasta main course and then dessert*. I'm trusted to organise the wine too. Makes me feel like a proper grown up.

Presents get opened after dinner. 

I have a hankering to watch Trains, Planes & Automobiles tonight. One of the best ever Christmas films - or it would be , except that it's about Thanksgiving. Same idea.

Happy Ending 

*(The more traditional meal will be on Monday, when Dr D's mum & sister join us - venison this year).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.