1YearInAddis

By 1YearInAddis

Construction

As I may have mentioned, there is lots of construction going on in Addis. I thought this was an elegant example. It seems that the high rises are made of concrete blocks, and reinforced, poured concrete floors and supporting members. Seems to be a lot less steel that would be used at home, perhaps due to cost? I thought it was a mosque, but it doesn't seem impossible (to my untrained eye) that it could be an Ethiopian Orthodox Church. I think the scaffolding is made of Eucalyptus, and I was surprised to see that this is used to support the forms for all the poured concrete. Strong stuff. Please feel free to correct my mistakes.

We saw this on the way to visiting Yekatit 12 hospital, and the National Museum, where we saw Lucy's 3 million year old bones, or at least a replica. She's in Chicago, we were told.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.