Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Sunny but cold

It was a cold one today - -8C at the top of the mountain with winds of up to 26km per hour that at times felt like we were skiing into a wall of resistance. Only Gavin, Luke and I went skiing today - Adam and Thomas stayed home to study. Don't be fooled by that sentence - both boys suffer from the same affliction, brilliantly clever but they have appalling time management skills and can quite easily waste their day by not planning it efficiently. So it meant that today as Luke skied with us, instead of his brothers, I skied much more than my usual gentle pootling about. We did have a coffee break at my favourite spot but we also skied so many runs. It helps that Luke qualified as a ski instructor in his gap year so today both Gavin and I benefitted from that. He taught me some things that were easy to understand and to correct, so I was pleased about that. With the colder weather the run down to the village was so icy, it was rather a case of managing how you slid down the slopes rather than being able to get a decent edge with your ski.

It was too cold to stop and take photos, so this is one of the very few I took today. The blue gondolas almost look like Christmas baubles hanging there!

Now I resting my tired legs, and waiting for Molly to arrive who joins us tonight for the rest of our time here. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.