Capital adventures

By marchmont

No comment

Another Friday hearing about the welfare 'reforms'. If you don't know about them - well, they will increase poverty and increase homelessness and make life much more difficult and challenging for some of our most vulnerable and chaotic fellow citizens. Maybe I should buy a big house and offer space to young single people. It is very depressing.

Back to the Parliament. I wasn't there for the inaugural Campbell Christie lecture, but that's why the banner and the signs were there. It was being delivered by one Gordon Brown. No I was there for the Politics Festival and 'Literary Legacies' - Alan Taylor, Richard Holloway and Jamie Byng talking about Canongate Press. an hour was much too short. But I never saw GB. I voted for him to be rector in 1973 or 74. I doubt he remembers!

After a foray into the shop, and the purchase of some more jewellery, Kemnay granite because I worked there once and lived for 24 years in a house built of the stuff, on a very slow moving #35 to the southside.

It was the Queen's Hall for Suggs which was brilliant. Similar to last night inasmuch as its a journey, a story, but it's a personal story about his cat, his life and his search for his father which turns out to be irrelevant to him. He ended (to a standing ovation) with 'It Must be Love'. I cried, again - yes, it's love - but I must have no regrets.

(PS - and yes, I have had a look at 'these' photos).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.