Mud Slide

Today was the annual Chipping Agricultural Show, the forecast wasn't brilliant, there was promise of possible thunderstorms around lunchtime, when they didn't arrive I thought things were looking up.

It had been raining on and off and the ground was very wet but people were making the best of it and there was a reasonable crowd.

I go along every year for the fell race, 2.30pm start, pay £8 entry into the show and the race is free, in fact the race organisers Preston Harriers refunded us £2 because they thought that £8 was too much money for a fell race. There was a collection box for the Bowland Mountain Rescue team on the table in the registration area so my refund went in there, I hope others followed my example, they do a great job.

The race starts in the main ring and approx 60 of us leave for 7.5 miles / 1800' of climb to the applause of the crowd. Only the fast lads who finish in around 65-70 minutes will finish in the ring, the rest of us get diverted behind the tents to make way for another event in the ring.

The ground this year was the wettest that I remember, the fields approaching the fell was just deep mud with runners sinking to mid calf and deeper time after time, it was sapping. Once on the fell the ground was not too bad but the rain started to get heavier, visibility was good which went against me, I would have preferred some low cloud as I know the route very well!

I got back in 12th place (I think) just as the heavens opened with a torrential downpour, the show just about came to a halt and everyone took shelter under the tents, at least the bar was doing a good trade.

About the only people on the field were the runners who were still coming in and the kids in the picture who were having a great time, I'm just glad that none of them were coming home in my car!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.