Almost the last thing I ever saw

The open air swimming pool circa early 1960s. I couldn't have been more than 4 years old when I fell into the pool (lower right hand corner in this picture). I can recall with absolute clarity going under the water facing upwards, eyes open and not really feeling panicked. Not sure how long this all took but I can still see my mum climbing down the steps fully clothed to retrieve me - she was doing the panicking for both of us. The pool was very busy and if she hadn't been paying attention, who knows what would have happened.

Life is full of these little moments, like the man who tried to coerce me into his car when I was standing at the bus stop on my way to the dentist, age about 13. Told him in no uncertain terms where to go but if `I hadn't been so wary .... well, doesn't bear thinking of.

Ooh, and I'm just 3 days away from my next significant blip - I will have to apply my creative juices to that one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.