Skittish Snow Dogs

What is it with dogs and snow? My daughter text messaged me last evening to ask me if Jazzy was as excited about the snow as Frankie dog was, before it had even reached here. The first thing Jazz did this morning was roll in it then she dashed about like a mad thing.

I went to Lodge Farm fairly early when it was still snowing and got some nice whiteout landscapes. I was hoping for snowdeer. As I was about to leave a car pulled up. I asked the woman if she was planning to dog-walk and she said that she was with a friend. Her friend arrived and turned out to be the dog behaviourist that I have met here before with her three dogs. I joined them on the first part of their walk. What fun the four dogs had together in the snow! :)

As for today's poem The Gods Do Not Consent written in Portuguese by Fernando Pessoa, he was a bit of a mixed up kid. He wrote under several heteronyms and in different styles. He was interested in the occult and corresponded with a prominent witch.

I thought I'd got a handle on what today's poem is about. As I was standing at the sink I was thinking about poems in translation. A poem isn't just words. It must be very difficult to translate one and retain all the subtle nuances and also for the translator to refrain from interpretation. I intended to link to the poem as it is in my book but got this: 

The gods do not consent to more than life.
Let us then all refute which may lead to
…………Unbreathable summits,
…………Eternal and unbloomed.
Let us be aware through mere acceptance,
And, whilst our blood still pumps through our temples,
…………Nor does our love wither
…………From within, let us last,
As clear panes of glass, transparent to light,
Allowing the sad drizzle to flow down,
…………Tepid beneath the sun,
…………Casting slight reflections.

It's a translation by  Alessandro Palermo Funari. The one in my book is by Jonathan Griffin. They're so different. I'm a completely mixed up kid now. :) 
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5ho8WGDQL90

*   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.