Hovering Hopefully ...

LARGER.

Today I'd planned a visit to Howe Hill again - this time for much longer than on the 16th - in the hope of finding a Swallowtail. This morning seemed OK, but as I reached Norwich (about half-way) the skies blackened and the rain cascaded down heavily. It looked fairly set in, so I gave up and turned back - no Swallowtail in its right mind was going to venture far on a day like this! Maybe next Saturday the weather'll be better (optimism rules OK) .....
By mid afternoon the rain was gone and the skies half-clear so I ventured out into the paddock to see what was blippable. On the bramble bush and thistle patches browsable flowers are dwindling in numbers and the insects are competing for available blossoms.

Soon after arriving at the bramble bush I spotted these 2 Hoverflies - one hogging a bramble bloom, the other hovering above it probably hoping for the flower to be vacated, and staying there for quite some time. I managed to take 3 shots. This was the best one - not perfect technically, but I'm delighted as it's the first time I've managed to capture anything in mid-air! So it'll do for me :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.