Bat Face Cuphea (Cuphea llavea)

It's a little flower, no more than an inch. I had something completely different in mind for today, and walked about a mile down the street to photograph a tree that was adorned with a big hand-lettered sign: Beware of Caterpillars. Who could resist that? In fact, the experience was revolting. The entire tree and surrounding sidewalk were covered with tiny caterpillars with big orange heads, crawling and bumping into each other. Hundreds and hundreds of them. It just took a couple seconds before I started brushing imaginary creatures off my sleeves and hair. Even though I've surprised myself sometimes by how much I've become fascinated with insects, this scene was way over my threshold. When I looked at my images on screen it made my skin crawl all over again. So, it's a little flower instead. No more than inch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.