A Collector of Oddities

By MinBannister

Osprey with fish

Pandion haliaetus

Not the clearest photo in the world but who cares? :-)

Brilliant mornings wildlife spotting with my Dad. We saw a Grey Seal, a charm of around 30 Goldfinches, Swallows zipping about, Terns, Cormorants a couple of Herons and some Gannets fishing in the sea.

I managed to spot the Osprey while crossing the old railway bridge. I had my camera in my bag because it was raining. I had to try and get the camera out and focus on the bird through all the girders so it wasn't terribly easy and I am pretty pleased with this!

We then saw a nice red deer which wasn't bothered about us and posed for photos before wandering off. And, just to put the icing on the cake, as I scanned the sea with my monocular, a dolphin shot right out of the water and splashed back down again. They were quite far away but I did manage to get a photo of a recognisable dolphin back.

So we pretty much ticked off all the best wildlife spots possible! The wind and rain hardly mattered.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.