dreaming

By dreaming

A stressful day today, as I took my older sister for a surgical consult.  She suffers from severe lumbar stenosis which causes dreadful pain in her leg, and the many approaches to reducing that pain that have been taken haven't had much effect.  Surgery, which we consider the last resort, appears to be the only hope.

So today we went to see the surgeon who did my own back surgery - a wonderful doctor and a fine human being - to see what he had to say.  It was not good news.  She will need a tri-level laminectomy, which will entail three days in the hospital followed by two or three weeks in rehab.  Given her other medical problems, it's not clear whether it would even be safe to do the surgery, so she will have to be evaluated by the UW consulting clinic.  If all promises well, the surgery would take place in late February or March.

I wish there were another option.  She has very little tolerance for pain and will be a trying patient.  The stress for me and for Endless Weekend will be even greater than it is now.  But it has to be done, and at least with that time frame both EW and I will be in town to share the burden.

After taking her home, I stopped by Central Market where I  spent some time in the deli section.  I was struck again by the tremendous variety of salamis, pates and other cured and potted meats in the case.  It's a splendid sight, so I've tried to capture it here to share with you.

Now for a quiet evening.  Hope your days were more upbeat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.