Lord Cockburn

It was TT’s turn to be up and out early.  I was left to get BB up and out – and against the odds we got out on time. I then picked up a friend and colleague as she needed a lift to the station today.  We were there in good time, but the queue to buy a ticket at the temperamental machine was huge.  As usual there was standing room only on the train.

A computer has still not appeared on my new desk, so I sat at an empty desk, hidden away - which actually made for a  peaceful day.  I managed to do some reading, went to a training session, and generally did some research to get me into the new subject topic.  I popped out at lunchtime for some fresh air, and didn’t feel like I had to rush, as my enormous to do list has gone – just for the moment.

My journey home was hideous.  I almost had a fit of hysteria on the platform when the guard said I couldn’t get on and would have to wait for the next train.  Somehow I managed to squeeze on – but many weren’t so lucky.  I was so glad to eventually get off the train before someone passed out due to the heat or claustrophobia.  I headed home, had a quick scoot round the supermarket for a few essentials and then picked BB up from badminton.  I was reminded by his friend’s dad that it is Burns Night.  I had completely forgotten.  There was no haggis in our house tonight, only some rather nice leftovers.

BB had “time” homework – which is one thing he really struggles with.  I have spoken to the school about it, and they don’t understand why he struggles either.  I have a theory it is something to do with the way it is taught, or the inconsistent way it is taught – without any real reinforcement, but I may be wrong.

I spotted this gentleman when I popped out at lunchtime.  He is at number one Cockburn Street.  There is a ghost sign that says Macpherson, and  a bit of googling tells me that in 1889 the proprietor of the Cockburn Hotel was John Macpherson.  A bit more googling tells me that the inscription on this relief reads, J Thrid Sc. Pleach has kindly posted a link to tell us that this is indeed Lord Cockburn.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.