The Mountain

It is so massive - as we drove back into Seattle late after hiking there today I commented that the downtown skyline looked pretty "eensy" after being dwarfed by our 14,000 and some mountain.

T. drove up to Sunrise from out campsite and I hiked the 2000 feet in 3 miles to meet him; I think I have a strain of mule in me as I love to go up and am steady and fairly fast. Kind of weird but there it is. I caught this on the way, and since the summit was mostly clouded the rest of the day glad the mule stopped to shoot this.

I met a couple who are on day 9 of their 12 Wonderful Trail cirque - about 120 miles around with lots of altitude gain and loss. I was on a wait list for last fall, but it did not work out. T. said he would help me do it next year, with food drops and meeting me at the three areas a car can come to where it crosses the road. It is simply one of those things I want to do and remember in those days down the road when I cannot be so active. I also want to climb to the summit and tried that almost 30 years ago to be turned back by weather. I would try that again too -but with no plan of action in sight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.