Because this is who I am

By Brighde

Take Yourself Seriously

Something I've been noticing at uni with the tutors is this whole idea of being 'serious'. 

Grayson Perry, the absolute queen of pottery, said 'If its not serious, it's not art'. Which is pretty true. Like I honestly feel like all the people in the art world need to take a step back from their pretentious lives and crack a bloody smile. Like god forbid in this world of turmoil that art could actually be light hearted. Then my tutor said 'It's not about taking yourself seriously, but being serious about your work'. Which, I'll be honest, is something I struggle with because honestly, sometimes I don't think I'm cut out to be this 'artist'. Maybe its my humble ways or crippling life anxiety that stops me being as out going as everyone else? For instance, how I supposed to know there's a famous gallery man exhibiting at 3am in a city I've never been too?! Oh sorry, but I don't want to struggle in a bedsit and only eat ramen noodles because 'that's what budding artists do'. I cannot abide the fact that because you're young and not earning good money, that people think you cant have standards. If I have £3.76 to my name I'll be damned if I buy anything less than cushelle toilet roll. Sorry, absolutely NOT sorry.  

For some reason I feel we get penalised for having lives. Lives that are bigger than chasing dreams that are ridiculously hard at the age of 22 when we know NOTHING. Why on earth do they pressure you so early on? Do I not live for another 50 years? Is there a deadline at what age I have to become a manic depressive who is a wash up with a big dream?! Honestly, it makes Van Gough seem a lot less crazy. Maybe he went to uni as well. 

I've used Lee has my photo because he has taught me to be less serious. There was a time when I took everything extremely seriously, I never laughed or smiled because I was too busy cringing at others. Maybe I was ahead of my time, or maybe I was afraid of what would happen if I showed happiness. Lee is my laughter, and my smiles and my happiness.

Happy Blipping.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.