Kimono

An early (relatively speaking) blip for me today.

This embroidery was completed on Sunday evening and will be taken off the frame today ready for the picture framer to collect next Monday. He lives locally and brings the necessary frame & mount samples to the house for you to choose. Great idea, as you can see the effect of different materials in the position they will hang. Also saves the trip into Cambridge to be faced with such a large selection that makes choosing difficult and if the picture is big, lugging it back to the car when completed!!!

There is a story behind this picture. The kit was bought in Singapore on the way back from Conference in New Zealand in 2006 (I will expand on that story when I blip the framed picture). It wasn't started for a few years, too many other things to do!! I had just finished the basic cross stitch in 2010 when I had to stop for several months due to eye sight problems. Having sorted those difficulties, I have now completed all the back stitch outlining and finally the tassels!!

Looking at this 10 x 12ins (25 x 30cms) item reminds me of the two hectic, amazing days with J & J in Singapore!!! Small things can evoke big memories!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.