Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Lanercost Priory

There was thick mist at home this morning and it was tempting to stay in bed instead of walking. I managed to drag myself out and was rewarded by sunshine all day over in the west, between Low Row, Lanercost and Banks (on Hadrian's Wall).

25 of us Haltwhistle Walkers did the long walk today. We passed near to Lanercost Priory quite early in the walk. I liked the way the sun was warming it against the inky blue sky.

English Heritage manage the site of what was an Augustinian Priory. It was often under attack in the long Anglo-Scottish wars.

The mortally sick King Edward I rested here for five months in 1306-7, shortly before his death on his final campaign. 

Our walk was about 9.5 miles so I'm happily tired now.

Mum managed well in my absence and the boiler did not go off!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.