Campbeltown Loch

With the weather being bright and sunny today, I was encouraged to go down to Campbeltown to get some paint for an outside job I am doing. As Mrs B is still being pampered in Peebles, I was able to take a bit more time looking for a blip.

I drove round to the south shore of Campbeltown Loch where I knew there was a family of young Herons. I previously tried to blip them, but they took off as soon as I approached. This time I parked a distance away and walked through the waist high bracken and brambles until I got to the trees behind them. I think these fellows have a sixth sense awareness of cameras, as no sooner did I see them and they were off. Half a dozen in total and all circling the area from on high observing the blipper who had disturbed their peace. Sorry guys!

Anyway, as I was on the shoreline I went looking for something else and was drawn to a swan at the mouth of a small stream. After a few shots I changed my position and came across a magnificent show of wild flowers, which I decided just had to be included in a blip. I am afraid I know few of their names other than the bright orange Montbretia, which seems to be everywhere at this time of year.

So instead of a single subject blip toady, I have ended up with a bit of a combo of seascape with swan and flowers (almost sounds like a course from a Chinese menu!)

For some people of a certain generation, Campbeltown Loch will be associated with with the song of that name immortalised by Andy Stewart . The line Campbeltown Loch I wish you were whisky is a reference to the fact that for such a small town, Campbeltown has had 30 distilleries!

Slàinte mhath (cheers)!

A quick edit to advise I have changed my Journal Title to Waterfoot Sunrise. As you will have noticed, my previous title had a typo which I was told couldn't be changed for a whole year. Having waited a full year, I now see you can change it every month if you want! Anyway, I decided some time ago to change it to Waterfoot Sunrise as this is probably my signature blip. Its also a wee play on words with the Kinks song Waterloo Sunrise which, coincidently, featured in the Olympics closing ceremony!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.