Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Stocking the larder

A rare shot today. These pots are hard enough to spot and that alone was worth a blip. But, I noted that the pot was still open and so there was a good chance that the wasp was still working on it, so I kept an eye on it as I worked the area for other subjects.

Sure enough, the wasp returned and fiddled around with the pot and then flew off. Obviously a great blip potential, so I sat down and waited. The closest I could get to the pot was about five feet, so there was always going to be some severe cropping, but still worth the effort.

The wait was not too long, about 5 - 10 minutes between visits, but on the third visit I was rewarded with the bug shot. I did actually get the wasp in flight, carrying the bug with the pot in frame too, but sadly I didn't nail it. Still, this is an incredibly rare shot and I am very happy with it.

Information - It will seal up a grub, on which it lays a couple of eggs. It will then seal the pot and fly off to build another. The eggs hatch, the maggots eat the grub and finally emerge from the pot as adult wasps.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.