The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Contrails and sun dogs

I overslept this morning, so I missed the best of the sunrise as Gus and I toiled up the Knott for the 98th successive day.  It was a cold, frosty morning and the aircraft contrails criss-crossed the sky, persisting and widening with time.  An atmospheric scientist could tell us what sort of atmospheric conditions are needed for this, but I do know that certain kinds of ice crystals favour the appearance of rainbow coloured sun dogs in cirrus clouds on either side of the sun and here was one appearing in the contrails.

I may not be able to manage a daily or even reasonably frequent blip at the moment, but I am determined to keep my morning walks up the hill going.  Two more days and I will reach the 100 milestone, which means 30,000 feet of ascent in 100 days, or an ascent of Everest from sea level.  I do think the daily routine is helping to keep the red blood cells just into the normal range.  What is going on elsewhere in my system is less clear as I have been much more fatigued this last week than previously.  At least today I enjoyed the better part of the day - when the rain came in the afternoon I was catching up on a bit more sleep.

I hope all is well in Blipland, I'm sorry I am not really in touch.  Goodness knows it is a kinder and more stable place than the world out there seems to have become since 20th January.  What will happen next?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.