Alberta

By Alberta

Perigueux

A last day with son J and D.I.L. S today. And this photo really mirrors how I feel. The more I look at it the more the various doorways and openings (including a bricked up one) intrigue me each one leading to another ... All the openings we have in our lives .. which ones do we choose?

Mr A stayed behind to start the prep for our programme next week.. he does all the cooking so I took J and S into Perigueux .. the nearest city to us here and a beautiful one too.. Full of little cobbled back streets, old doors, secret courtyards, a big market and a striking cathedral ... I took lots of shots of the cathedral and the market and as is the way it was on our way back to the car that we passed this open gateway to a private courtyard... I would love to be able to explore all these places... And the statue of the bull is very appropriate as the bull is one of the symbols of the Perigord region being one of the Palaeolithic Lascaux cave paintings in the southern part of the Dordogne and estimated to be over 20.000 years old... so this image symbolises Perigord ...took us ages to work what it was the tourist road signs some years ago...

Anyway then it was goodbye to J and S .. we had a wonderful time with them ... and I think that they really relaxed here with us too. We certainly ate a lot (and yes I have to admit that they took me out for lunch in Perigueux today!!) then off to Bergerac airport for our goodbyes .. lots of hugs and see you soon's ....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.