I WOKE UP A BIT LATER THAN USUAL

it was already warm and sunny. So I started again with the painting of the planks.
At one moment I saw the squirrel coming up with her nuts. And when she had put them away (in a hole in the earth, or in a tree?) she came running down for her new search. I changed my lens and sat on the ground. Piet Hein joined me and sat near me. He volunteered or was it me who ordered him :), to get me some coffee.
A minute later I saw the squirrel running upon the rather steep drive.
I pressed the on button and focused and at the moment where she always stopped for a moment to see if it was safe to continue I pressed and hearing this sound the squirrel turned, ran down and disappeared in the bushes. Taking a detour, I guess. Wise decision but I would do her no harm of course.
I had collected some haselnuts myself near the supermarket, where some lay on the ground and had put them on a tree trunk. This morning they had disappeared and the squirrel or the raccoons, or whatever other animal had taken them.
When I visited Mischa in London we had taken photos of grey squirrels in the park, very tame and inquisitive. My red squirrel, and there one or two more I think, was already a bit used to us. But I had not thought that I so soon could take a picture of one. Happy bunny I am, as I now know this expression.

My haiku:

Already busy
For the wintertime to come?
I live in fall time

And the proverb:

Never trouble trouble till trouble troubles you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.