Poppy

By Poppy

My Lucky Day . . .

Headed south today on the ferry at the crack of dawn and by chance met in with the brother and sister in law of a friend of ours, a lovely lady from Kirkwall. They wouldn't hear of me taking the bus down to Inverness, but insisted I travel with them in their very luxurious Jag! That was the first of my lucky breaks.

Actually, the fact that it was a flat calm day for the crossing of the Pentland Firth was the first bit of luck!

Arriving in Inverness, I could hardly believe the heat! Of course I had all my layers on, because you never know! I spotted a sale in Laura Ashley and there was the most beautiful dress, my size, and reduced from £100 to £28! Jeans, T shirt, cardigan and jacket went into my bag and I wore the dress for the rest of the journey!

The final piece of luck was that Shelagh's last piano pupil of the day had cancelled their lesson, so she was able to pick me up from the station herself, rather than send a friend. So super to see her again, albeit in difficult circumstances, and it is going to be great to spend a few days with her.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.