knit 1 girl 1

By knit1girl1

Housework and weaving

Had to do the housewifey thing this morning before the house descended into chaos. Found the carpet in Thoms room and even got some washing done.
I washed the double weave pieces that I'd been working on which are today's blip. The black and white piece is playing around with double weave, which is weaving two layers of cloth at the same time. It's tricky but I like that as it makes my head work. The right hand piece is the same warp but just playing with it in plain weave. It's a fine silk warp so I used some fine silk mixed with different types of wool yarn. The fabric has actually puckered up at one point as I did a float type of patterning. I didn't expect it to give a 3d effect so I'm quite happy how it turned out. I think I'll try some more mixing of fine silk with thicker yarns as I really like the effect it has given.
As the table loom has now been freed up I've spent the afternoon putting on the warp I'd brought back from college. This turned out to be trickier than I thought as the wool yarn and evil linen lurex yarns had been trying to have a party together and had stuck together. I've finally tamed it and got it wound onto the back of the loom, but think I might be having a battle with this warp while I weave with it.
It's good to finally be getting back into doing my college work and I'm looking forward to cracking on with it over the next couple of weeks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.