Still Life

"Snell" is a good Scottish word to describe a bitter, biting wind, but even that adjective did not do justice to the east wind that accosted His Lordship and me as we did our power walk round the Meadows just after lunchtime. Arctic would be a better description as if it had just blown off that icy wasteland to the north. How we don't yet have snow is a mystery.

The walk was a token gesture to readdress the amount of potato couching we will be doing this afternoon in front of the television as we watch the Scottish/French rugby match in Paris. I might bale out though if there is the start of a rout for the Scots.

I have noticed in the past that my presence in front of a television seems to be detrimental to the success of Scottish sportsmen and women. I just have to turn on the TV to watch Andy Murray playing in winning mode for him to immediately lose the game and likewise if Scotland are doing well in a rugby match, I have to leave the room lest my vibes cause them to get beaten.
Watching the French line up they look big boys, very large and intimidating. I worry for the safety of Greg Laidlaw our wee and wonderful scrum half. I hope he doesn't get squashed by any of them.

Update -They did squash him and he's off the field.....oh dear

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.