grab and go

With the new dynohubbed wheel in place, the only bits remaining of the bike I rolled back from the shop seven years ago are the frame, seat pin and stem. I'd been meaning to build one of these at some point over the summer before it became vital but I barely managed to get one of my see-by front lights working again after they all broke back in the spring, ending up with something which worked but which required wiring-up to some batteries carried in a holder in the saddlebag. The evenings are now dark enough to require lighting if I want to go out again after the wingpiglet's bedtime and I like the idea of permanently-attached relatively fuss-free battery-charge-state-independent lights. They work well both on the road and trundling gingerly around the wet hill on tyres which are a little too skinny for that sort of thing but the mount is going to be a bit of a pain as my fork crown is overhung by the headset with insufficient clearance for the official mount to fit. The rear lamp is just bolted to the mudguard so I bodged something similar for the front just to get out to test it, fortunately not causing the mudguard to be ripped off as the light wobbled.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.