Familiar clouds?

Coming home from the recycling centre/DIY store/supermarket, I thought the clouds had a familiar look to them - rather like the opening credits to a very popular cartoon series. By the time we got home and I got out my camera to take this picture, I think the perfection of the sky had gone, but thought I'd blip it anyway.

I might have blipped a photo of tonight's local paper as it included three pictures of the Edinburgh Grads, taken during their performance of Nobody Will Ever Forgive Us during the Fringe. They won an award in the ENDAs - Evening News Drama Awards for local groups on the Fringe - and therefore the paper's theatre editor wanted some pics to illustrate the article about the award winners. The director of the show did ask them to credit me when they published the pictures (especially as I had donated them for free), but once again even the simplest (and cheapest) form of 'payment' was beyond the News. So in return I decided it wasn't worth buying the paper just to blip it.

It's always difficult to know what to do in such circumstances. I want my friends to get the publicity their success deserves, and the pictures were taken with no real thought of making money. Making a fuss might have meant the images were simply dropped, or maybe even the whole article, although in this case that was probably unlikely as it was the paper's own awards after all. And by pointing out that yet again the Evening News has used my images without the basic courtesy of a picture credit do I appear 'difficult' and damage potential job prospects in the future? Probably not at the News itself as I haven't earned a penny from them, but maybe losing out on word of mouth? On the other hand, the lack of recognition of the photographer in the printed and online media is something that needs to be resisted. Unattributed pictures are orphaned works that can be more easily exploited in the future. While I can't see any lucrative future sales of pictures of The Grads (sorry, guys!) you never know. Perhaps one of the cast could go on to achieve greater fame? So is that why the Evening News rarely attributes pictures? Building up a library of orphan images it can use again in the future? Or is it more cock-up/laziness than conspiracy?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.