Kelpies

SWMBO and I headed over to Falkirk this morning.
She was looking for an outfit for the wedding - I was wanting to photograph the statues of the Kelpies at the canal basin where it meet the River Carron.

Finding that the maps giving the motorway exit were wrong was the first bit of fun (it is not an 'off ramp' heading the way we were heading) so it was a trip further up the motorway, turn off at the next junction onto another motorway and on to the next exit so we can turn round and retrace.

Next bit of fun was finding the road to the canal basin.
Failed miserably so headed into Falkirk where SWMBO found the outfit she liked but will try and get it cheaper on-line.
So it was back to finding the canal basin and the Kelpies.
We eventually found it - tucked between a dead end and the entrance to a huge distribution warehouse looking like some long driveway.
When we got down to the basin I found the statues loaded on the back of a lorry about to be taken somewhere else.
A wee bit annoying , but if the lorry had gone before I got there I would have thought I had lost my mind (especially having seen them in place as we passed up the motorway).

Took the Cygnet out puddle jumping this afternoon ........... soaked he was ....... and to meet his Dad off the train - that really delighted both of them.

I photographed both of the grandchildren's spoons for comparison (and insurance purposes).
It gave me the chance to try using the infrared flash trigger and the Nikon flash gun with the Lumix.
I think a radio trigger in on the cards.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.