What did I see today...?

By DaveR

Pouring

Odd day for the weather...

The forecast was for showers and grey skies so it was a pleasant surprise when the sun turned up on Thursday afternoon... of course, it then disappeared rather promptly just as we gathered for rounders - fair play to those folks playing tennis in the background though, none of them fled during the storm as we all hid under a tree waiting for a ball to arrive!

The rain did stop in time for the match and it was quite a fun one. The official Zoology vs Independents game was called off (a lack of Zoologists) so I ended up joining forces with the Indies to take on the Cambridge Assessment team as their opposition had cancelled earlier - so basically a competitive friendly. Did fairly well for myself as well - three rounders and an excellent slide - and our ragtag team played well enough that we actually won the first game - the timed innings went to pot though as we were all out in five minutes!

After the game I managed a quick drink and dinner with everyone else and then headed to the Picture House armed with my film reviewer status to get my free ticket for 'Shadow Dancer'. I'll not say anything here, again waiting for Saturday's show, but I will say it's a really good little spy thriller - no massive set pieces here, just some good acting and great tense scenes shot in what feels like a very intimate bit of cinema.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.