peaceful cemetery walk

I think this photo looks very nice large.

If I don't feel like driving when I want to take a walk, I don't have to. I can go right out my front door, down the street a few steps to one of two cemeteries, with or without the dogs. (steven often takes them with him for the day). In fact, you can see the roof of my house and my studio window peeking out over the fence on the right. These cemeteries are still in active use and we can hear funerals going on sometimes. Some are quiet and other times they are very loud and festive with boom box music playing! On the left you may be able to see a wreath on a stand from a funeral last week. That was a very quiet one.

I had a few other photos that I took as I walked yesterday, but some seemed rather sad to share. There is a grave I photographed of a little girl who died when she was only 3 years old. There are many many flowers (real roses plus artificial bunches) and toys adorning her grave and headstone. Having all the decorations is interesting and culturally different from what I am accustomed to (all the toys and other mementos placed on the grave). It seemed to me the child who died a year ago was very missed. I thought this photo of the path I was on in the cemetery and the back of my house with all our oak trees was a better choice to show my walk. I have manipulated this in photoshop by using the "cut-out" filter for more interest -I like it.

You will probably see more photos of my cemetery walks here as I am going there more often now, but just pass them by if they are not for you. I'll understand. I have finally caught up with my photos for blip-I can't believe it!
I uploaded 3 today, so if you like, work backwards with the calendar or by clicking on the left side of the photo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.