horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Big Issue. Little Puppy.

I was trying to get a shot of this guy with the little white boxer pup he had in his bag, but liked the way this came out. You can just see the dog here, and the whole thing framed in this one. The dog was getting plenty of attention and, undoubtedly, creating more sales.

More than the chap I saw setting up 15 minutes later as I sat in the window of an eatery with my tuna sandwich and chocolate croissant. Right through the window from me he was, and it brought that basic feeling of guilt that I always get when I've been feeling a bit sorry for myself then see someone who likely has a fair amount more to complain about than I do. Even more so when I'm there tucking into a slice of lunch that would have bought 4 Big Issues.

Not that I buy it. Cos it's a rubbish magazine truth be told. And it's not as if I don't give to charity - three direct debits leave my account every month towards various causes my own personal morality deems worthy.

So where does it stop? When does it stop being hard to accept that chairty is needed? And am I allowed to punch those clipboard charity people who are selling their time for ten pounds an hour to make us all feel worse about ourselves for walking by?

I've no problem with being charitable, I just don't like to feel 'forced' into showing the milk of human kindness. I guess it's the difference between those who like to make a show of just how generous and caring they are, and those who actually do it without expecting any real thanks or recognition.

And come the New Year I know which of those people I'd like to see more of.

Happy 2009 everyone, and just.... Be Excellent to Each Other.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.