Flower Friday: Lisianthus

This morning I bought some flowers for my Editor. Well OK, I reckoned they'd do nicely for a Flower Friday blip as well. But in my defence I did used to buy her flowers before I started blipping...!  ;-))

They were new to me but looked rather nice - I'd never knowingly seen lisianthus before, but no doubt I'm showing my horticultural ignorance (try saying that after a few drinks). They're just beginning to open and we thought they looked a bit like roses but seemingly they are from a different family. According to Wikipedia, they come from the Southern USA, Mexico, the Caribbean and the northern parts of South America; the name Lisianthus  comes from the Greek words lissos, meaning smooth, and anthos, which means flower. They can also be called Eustoma after the Greek words eu, which means good, and stoma, which means mouth.So I photographed the mouth of this flower.

Best viewed large if you've time.

Thanks as always to BikerBear Anni for looking after FF.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.